South Carolina

Code Section
59-65-10, et seq.

Age Requirements
Between 5 and 17

Exceptions
Enrolled in private, parochial, or other approved program; child graduated; physical/mental disability; 8th grade completed and gainfully and lawfully employed; child has reached age 16 and determined to be disruptive to educational program and enters into gainful employment until 17

Home School Provisions
Instruction given under auspices of South Carolina Association of Independent Home Schools and its requirements exempts home school from further requirements; otherwise, instruction must be approved; parent has at least a high school diploma or GED; include 180 days of instruction per year; curriculum includes reading, writing, math, science, social studies; composition and literature (in grades 7–12)

Penalties on Parents for Noncompliance
Not more than $50 fine or prison up to 30 days; each absence is separate offense; court may suspend any conviction in its discretion


Inside South Carolina