New York

Code Section
Educ. §§3201, et seq.

Age Requirements
Between 6 and 16

Exceptions
Non-public or home instruction; mental/physical condition endangers him or others; completed 4 year high school program; full-time employment certificate; may also be allowed to attend part-time with employment

Home School Provisions
Instruction given to a minor must be at least substantially equivalent to the instruction that would be received by minors of like age and attainments in the public school where child resides

Penalties on Parents for Noncompliance
1st offense: fine not exceeding $10 or 10 days jail; subsequent offense: up to $50 and/or 30 days jail


Inside New York