Montana

Code Section
20-5-102, et seq.

Age Requirements
Between 7 and the later of attaining 16 or finishing 8th grade

Exceptions
Enrolled in another district or state; supervised correspondence or home study; excused by district judge or board of trustees; enrolled in nonpublic or home school

Home School Provisions
Give notice to county superintendent; maintain records; give 180 days of instruction; building complies with health and safety regulations; provide organized course of study in subjects required by public schools

Penalties on Parents for Noncompliance
Fine of $5 to $20; if parent refuses to pay he shall be imprisoned in county jail 10 to 30 days


Inside Montana