Mississippi

Code Section
37-13-91

Age Requirements
Between 6 and 17

Exceptions
Child is physically/mentally/emotionally incapable of attendance; child enrolled in special or remedial type education; educated in legitimate home instruction program

Home School Provisions
Parent must file a “certificate of enrollment” and education must be a “legitimate home instruction program.”

Penalties on Parents for Noncompliance
Guilty of “contributing to the neglect of a child” and punished according to ยง97-5-39: misdemeanor with fine up to $1000 and/or up to 1 year in jail


Inside Mississippi