Michigan

Code Section
380.1561, et seq.

Age Requirements
Between 6 and 16

Exceptions
Enrolled in approved non-public school which teaches subjects comparable to those in public schools to children of same age; under 9 years old and doesn’t reside within 2.5 miles of nearest traveled road of public school and transportation not provided; age 12 to 13 while in attendance of confirmation classes not to exceed 5 months

Home School Provisions
An organized education program which teaches subjects comparable to those taught in public schools to children of corresponding age and grade

Penalties on Parents for Noncompliance
Warrant issued, hearing and determination made; misdemeanor: fine of $5 to $50 and/or 2 to 90 days jail


Inside Michigan