Georgia

Code Section
20-2-690, et seq.

Age Requirements
Between 6 and 16

Exceptions
Private school or home study

Home School Provisions
Must teach at least reading, language arts, math, social studies, and science; parents must give annual notice; parent must have at least a high school diploma or may employ a tutor with a baccalaureate college degree; subject to standardized testing; must provide annual progress assessment report

Penalties on Parents for Noncompliance
Misdemeanor; fine up to $100 and/or prison up to 30 days; each day’s absence is separate offense


Inside Georgia